New Zealand: Basic Information

Are you travelling to New Zealand for vacation, study or work?  Well, here are some information about this beautiful country which you may want to know!


1.  New Zealand is located about 900 miles east of Australia (across the Tasman Sea) and about 600 miles south of Pacific Island areas of New Caledonia, Fiji and Tonga.

2. New Zealand has two main land masses -North Island and South Island.

3. Māori were the first to arrive in New Zealand (Aotearoa), travelling in canoes from Hawaiki about 1,000 years ago.

4. The country is led by the prime minister (currently Bill English) while Queen Elizabeth II is the head of state.

5.  The flag of New Zealand is a defaced Blue Ensign with the Union Flag in the canton, and four red stars with white borders to the right. The stars’ patter represents the asterism within the constellation of Crux, the Southern Cross.flag_of_new_zealand-svg

6.  As of June 2016, the population of New Zealand is estimated at 4.69 million and is increasing at a rate of approximately 2.1% per year.

7.  The four largest cities are Auckland, Christchurch, Wellington (Capital City) and Hamilton.

8.  Life expectancy for New Zealanders in 2012 was 84 years for females, and 80.2 years for males.

jydmzyoziae-angello-lopez9.  On a 2013 census, nearly 75% of New Zealand residents identified ethnically as European and 15% as Māori.  Asian and Pacific people living in New Zealand were recorded as 11.8% and 7.4% respectively.

10. The same census (2013) showed that 41.92% of New Zealanders are not affiliated in any religion, 12.61% Roman Catholic,  11.79% Anglican, 8.47% Presbyterian, 15.14% Other Christians, 2.11% Hinduism, 1.50% Buddhism, 1.18% Islam, 1.53% Other religion and 4.44% Undeclared.

11.  New Zealand English is the language spoken by most New Zealanders.  The country’s official language are Māori Language (Te Reo Māori) and New Zealand Sign Language.

12. There are four seasons in New Zealand: a) Spring (September-November), b) Summer (December-February), c) Autumn/Fall (March-May), d) Winter (June-August).

13.  New Zealand’s unit of currency is the dollar (NZ$). All major credit cards can be used in New Zealand, with Visa and MasterCard accepted most widely.

14.  Driving in New Zealand is on the left hand side of the road and vehicles seat the driver on the right.

15.  New Zealand has a one of a kind geographical landscape waiting to be explored and experienced! There are “glaciers, picturesque fiords, rugged mountains, vast plains, rolling hillsides, subtropical forest, volcanic plateu, miles od coastlines with gorgeous sandy beaches”.  Check out 100% Pure New Zealand for more!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s